A Nice Ending To A Great Season

It’s time to start wrapping up my first cycling season. Just to make sure it ended with a high note we headed down to Nice, France to ride some classic climbs and to enjoy the last warm days in Europe.

All in all I would’ve never expected to get so much out of road cycling. Having mountain biked for years I thought lycra might not suite me so well. It turned out I found road cycling to be difficult, gruelling, painful, therapeutic, fun and rewarding in more ways than I could have ever imagined.

During the week we climbed the famous Col de la Madone which is a favourite test climb for many of the local pros. We tried to climb Col de Vence but failed because I developed a  fever (probably due to the flu I had the previous week) and collapsed half way up.

After recovering and doing some research we located another brilliant Rapha Ride which took us to Col de Braus and Col de Turini. We got to enjoy some of the most gruelling climbs (Col de Turini climb is 24km long) and amazing views both on the way up and down.

Again, thank you to all my friends who got me into this. It’s been a great season!

Here are links to some of our routes from Nice:

This entry was published on October 14, 2013 at 09:05. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

